The yamas are a set of five ethical principles and are part of the 8 Limbs of Yoga.

Sanskrit Pronounciation: yaa-maa

Yama is a Sanskrit term that refers to the ethical disciplines or restraints in yoga philosophy. Yamas are the first of the eight limbs of yoga, as outlined by the sage Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras, and they provide a set of guidelines for living a virtuous and ethical life.

There are five yamas in total:

  1. Ahimsa: Non-harming or non-violence, which encourages one to avoid causing harm to oneself or others, whether through physical, verbal, or emotional means.
  2. Satya: Truthfulness, which involves being honest in one’s speech and actions, avoiding deception and falsehood.
  3. Asteya: Non-stealing, which encourages one to avoid taking what is not rightfully theirs, whether material possessions or intellectual property.
  4. Brahmacharya: Self-restraint, which involves conserving one’s vital energy and practicing sexual restraint.
  5. Aparigraha: Non-attachment, which encourages one to avoid hoarding material possessions and to let go of attachments that can lead to suffering.